Let's Walk Upper Teesdale

Walking in Upper Teesdale


Let's Walk
Upper Teesdale

ISBN 9781898550167



(see rates below)
UK mainland only

Add to Cart

PayPal Logo

Royal Mail 48 hour tracked
£2.70 for sales up to £9.99
£3.50 for sales from £10.00 to £19.99
FREE P&P for sales over £20.00
All items despatched together
qualify for the flat rate postage.
UK mainland only

Walking Books - Special Offer

Acknowledged as one of England’s most beautiful and spectacular areas, Upper Teesdale is world-famous for its unique geology and flora. Wherever you roam in the upper Dale, its secluded and unspoilt landscape, richly endowed with natural beauty, provides an incredible feeling of solitude and tranquillity.

Until 1974, Teesdale, or more specifically, the river Tees, marked the boundary between County Durham and Yorkshire’s North Riding. Nowadays, Upper Teesdale resides wholly within County Durham, which encroaches further south and includes the Greta Valley and part of Stainmore. The Tees’ source rises at Tees Head on the bleak eastern slopes of Cross Fell – England’s second-highest mountain with a height of 2930 feet (893m). The river’s name possibly originated from the ancient Welsh Tes, which means ‘sunshine or heat’ and translates as the ‘boiling or surging river’. Although the Cow Green Reservoir now subdues the Tees’ flow, it fits this description admirably. Cauldron Snout, England’s longest cascade, is just below the dam and seven miles (11.25km) further downstream, England’s largest waterfall, High Force, thunders 70 feet (21m) over a rocky cliff into a deep pool.

The North Pennines is a superb place for walkers, especially those who enjoy wild, secluded areas. An extensive network of footpaths and bridle­ways provides access to an excellent choice of routes ranging from easy river­side rambles to strenuous fell walks. Since the introduction of the Country­side and Rights of Way Act 2000 (CRoW), often called the ‘right to roam’, route permutations have been unlimited. One of the long-distance routes within the North Pennines National Landscape is the Teesdale Way, a 92 mile (147km) walk which starts from Dufton in Cumbria. The trail passes through County Durham and Teesside to reach the North Sea coast near Redcar.

Whatever the purpose of your visit, the North Pennines will leave you energised and uplifted with just one wish – to come back! And I’m sure that you will return time after time to savour this ‘treasure of timeless beauty’.

This personal guide incorporates:

Full-colour maps with numberedarrow pointers for each of the walks.

Route directions with grid references beside each map to aid navigation.

Background information for each walk.

Illustrated with colour photographs of some of prominent features seen during the walks.

Walks in Upper Teesdale
The North Pennines

Cow Green Reservoir and Cauldron Snout 7.75
A Circuit of Cronkley Fell 7.2
Langdon Beck and the Teesdale Cave 5.6
High Force and Forest-in-Teesdale 7.6
The Teesdale Allotments and Hardberry Hill 7.15
Lunedale and Harter Fell 8.25
Teesdale Meadows 6.25
Hudeshope Beck and Egglesburn 7.9
The Tees Railway Walk and Eggleston Hall 6.84
Goldsborough and Hannah’s Meadow 7.8
The distances are in miles

Sample pages of walks featured in the books can be viewed and printed out from The Walks page.

Contact Form | Site Map